side menu icon

Nominations now open for Amarillo's Women of Distinction

Women of Distinction

Girl Scouts of Texas Oklahoma Plains is excited to announce that nominations are open for the 2022 Amarillo Women of Distinction awards. The annual dinner and awards program, scheduled for October 27, brings together and recognizes a group of purpose-driven leaders in business, government, education, and philanthropy, who, like our girls, are dedicated to service and leadership in their community.

Nominees do not need to be previous Girl Scouts, however a connection to Girl Scouts is recommended.

Nominations will be accepted through June 13, 2022.

The Women of Distinction program is composed of five awards:

  • Woman of Distinction Award: The recipient of this award demonstrates exceptional leadership, serves our communities, and advances the quality-of-life for girls and women. This purpose-driven woman is a champion for female ambition and connects with others to create impactful solutions. She is an inspirational role model who shows young girls how to create positive change in our world.

  • Rising Star: Girl Scouts know there’s no ‘right age’ to begin making a difference. Each year, one Rising Star Award is presented to a young Woman of Distinction between 12-25 years of age, who has volunteered, supported, or been a member of the Girl Scouts for a minimum of two years. This individual has demonstrated leadership, initiative, and dedication, and has made significant contributions in her community.

  • Outstanding Community Partner: This award recognizes organizations, corporations, or foundations of all sizes for their philanthropic and/or exceptional involvement with Girl Scouts. This partner makes an impressionable difference to enhance education, transform communities, and is dedicated to empowering young leaders.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: The recipient of this award is a lifelong Girl Scout who has dedicated her life to serving in the interest and support of female leadership.

  • Man Enough to Be a Girl Scout Award: The recipient of this award is a male business leader who supports the development of girls through Girl Scouting.

Learn more about the Women of Distinction Program by visiting our website.